Experience our rich history
The early maps of Hancock County show a town named Pleasantville. Maps printed a few years later, show another town on the Pleasantville site-- McComb had taken its place.
Pleasantville was laid out by Benjamin Todd n the northeast corner of the west half of the northeast quarter of Section 26, in 1847. The plat consisting of 18 lots, was acknowledged Aug. 18, 1847, before Price Blackford, justice of the peace, and recorded Sept. 4, 1847 by John Adams, recorder.
Historical data reveal that another name preceded that od Pleasantville. When the town was first plotted out and the first buildings erected making it a trading center, it was known as Todd Town. The crocking of the frogs in the many ponds gave rise to the nickname "Toad Town". This name being displeasing to the citizens, was changed to Pleasantville. They now thought the "name trouble" was over, but, while still a pioneer town, through mail confusion, they discovered that Ohio had two Pleasantville's. The other town, being older, had priority claim. Again they must choose a name.
In searching for a new name, Elisha Fout, one of the town's early settlers, was counseled. Mr. Fout, a soldier of 1812, had fought at Pittsburg under the command of Gen. Macomb. He suggested naming the town after his old commander. The name was accepted. Mr. Fout was a Scotchman by birth and his way of spelling was McComb. The town was incorporated in 1858, when the name was changed to McComb. William Chapman was the first mayor.
In the 18 original lots were included those on both sides of Main St. from Todd to High St. and on the south side to the alley between the Darbyshire and Pendleton homes. This area is the Todd addition. A Mr. Rawson, thinking the Continental Railroad would be built through McComb, the grading having been done, bought a plot of ground from George Allgire. This includes all lots from Todd St. west and is the Rawson addition.
During the boom days following the railroads, two brothers, Will and Charles Dimm, laid out Dimm Town. This includes the lots east of the bend of the North Main St. and east from the Church of Christ originally located on South St. The Fishell addition was laid out along Perrin Ave. The Rotz addition has as its central street Cooper St. These, with the Ewing, Anderson and Allgire additions, make the town plat.
By 1872 McComb was a village of 350 to 400 inhabitants.
Transportation In The Old Days
The first transportation system was a hack run by Nicholas Apger. It carried mail, some merchandise, and passengers between McComb and Findlay. At first trips were made each Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. Later they were made daily. After the death of Nicholas Apger, Curtis his son, took over the business. Later it became the property of James and Milton Warner. During the County Fair week hack fare was "cut to the bone". This was due to completion by a Findlay man who had the star mail route at that time. By the end of Fair week he carried passengers free. With the coming of passenger service on the railroad, the hack business became unprofitable and was discontinued.
Utilities in 1887
In 1887 the town enjoyed the luxury of natural gas. It was piped in from a "gusher" at Van Buren. A big celebration held. Arches crossed Main St. at every intersection and jets of light, a dozen or more, were on each arch. People could hardly sleep at night for the town was as light as day. Almost every house was piped and gas was used for every purpose. The supply seemed unlimited. Street lights burned without restriction. $1.50 per month paid for lighting and cooking, $2.00 for heating. The supply started to dwindle and by 1892-93 it gave out and people were back to burning wood and coal.